

Division 5 Kentucky-Tennessee District Kiwanis International

2013 LAYPERSON OF THE YEAR AWARD NOMINATION

COVER SHEET

NAME OF NOMINEE

NOMINATED BY

NAME OF CLUB

Signatures REQUIRED below

CLUB PRESIDENT

Human & Spiritual Values CHAIR

CLUB SECRETARY

DATE

DATE

DATE

GUIDELINES FOR NOMINATION

Division 5 Kentucky Tennessee District of Kiwanis International 2013 LAYPERSON OF THE YEAR AWARD

Each club in good standing within Division 5 Kentucky Tennessee District of Kiwanis International is encouraged to nominate a member in good standing of their club for the Layperson of the Year Award.

The Layperson of the Year Award recognizes an individual Kiwanian who exemplifies the first two Objects of Kiwanis International, namely

- To give primacy to the human and spiritual, rather than to the material values of life.
- To encourage the daily living of the Golden Rule in all human relationships.

A nomination is to include a written narrative, not more than two pages (500 words) in length, plus the signed cover sheet. The narrative should highlight <u>only</u> the nominee's actions over the past year. Longevity is NOT the key ingredient in the nominee's record of service to mankind for the purpose of this award. Younger members of Kiwanis have an equal opportunity of being nominated and selected for this award. Past recipients (list attached) are not eligible.

The nomination must be signed by (1) Club President, (2) Chair of Human and Spiritual Values Committee, and (3) Club Secretary.

David Green is the chair of the committee to select the Division 5 Layperson of the Year. The selection will be based solely on the above material, sent to the address below by the due date. No other submissions will be accepted, and to be considered, all submissions MUST meet all of the above criteria.

Deadline: Postmarked on or before Monday, April 15, 2013

Mail to:	Division 5 Kiwanis	or Scan & e-mail to:	
	c/o Hampton Inn	wswojnar@aol.com	
	5411 Pratt Rd.	(Submission must still have required	
	Knoxville, TN 37912	signatures.)	

FIRST	LAST	YEAR	CLUB
Ron	Arakaki	2010	Sevierville
Joy	Bishop	2005	Maryville
Asa O.	Bishop, Jr.	1983	Knoxville
Larry	Campbell	2011	Maryville
Billy	Carty	1985	Norwood
Curtis	Clabo	1994	Gatlinburg, now Sevierville?
Ann	Crytser	2012	Alcoa
Drexel	Davis	1996	Norwood, Knoxville
Steven	Diggs	1995	Norwood, Knoxville
Jimmy B.	Dunn	2001	Newport
J. Temple	Fraker	1982	Knoxville
James S.	Franks	1982	Newport
James "Jay"	Gaddis	1992	Newport
Maurice "Mike"	Gerard	2002	Westown, now Northside
J.O. "Jack"	Hampton	1990	Holston
Winston	Harrell	1988	Norwood, Knoxville
Robert H.	Harvey	2003	Northside, Knoxville
Reuben A.	Hunter	1992	East Knoxville
David	Kemp	2004	Alcoa
Amy L.	Kingery	2008	Sevierville
Rob	Mathis	2009	Newport
William E.	McConnell	1989	Knoxville
Ralph M.	Ross	1991	Northside, Knoxville
Buford E.	Rowe	2007	West Knoxville
Phil	Ruch	2003	Newport
James	Runnion	1996	Newport
Dan	Saffelder	1998	Gatlinburg
Joseph H.	Shackelford	2000	Knoxville
Joe R.	Shepherd	1993	Knoxville
Howard	Simmons	1987	Knoxville
John M.	Smartt	1997	Knoxville
William	Taylor	1999	Morristown
Bruce	Whitney	2000 (posthumous)	Jefferson Co

Past Division 5 Lay Persons of the Year